Tax Commissioner running in 2018. Two long-serving state Legislators are not.

Jan 25, 2018

Tax Commissioner Ryan Rauschenberger.
Credit ND Tax Dept.

A state official has announced he will seek another term. But two long-time satte Legislators are calling it quits.

State Tax Commissioner Ryan Rauschenberger (R) will seek a second full term.

Rauschenberger was appointed to the tax commissioner’s office in January, 2014 by then-Governor Jack Dalrymple. He won a full term that November.

Rauschenberger said he’s made a lot of efficiency improvements in his office. And he said he’s hit the fraud issue pretty hard.

"We've stopped over $2 million of fraudulent refunds from going out the door,"  Rauschenberger said. "That's about 1400 different fraud cases we've actually stopped."

Rauschenberger is the first to declare his intention for the office.

Sen. Bill Bowman (R-Bowman)
Credit ND Legislature

Rep. Lois Delmore (D-Grand Forks)
Credit ND Legislature

Two veteran North Dakota Legislators have said they will not seek re-election.

State Sen. Bill Bowman (R-Bowman) said in a statement, “After 28 years, I feel it is time for me to step aside, because it will be in my best interest and for the people of District 39.” Bowman most recently served as vice chairman of the Senate Appropriations Committee.

And State Rep. Lois Delmore (D-Grand Forks) has also decided to retire. She had served in the House 24 years. In her statement, Delmore said she wants to spend more time with family and friends, and to travel more. Most recently. Delmore served on the House Appropriations Committee.