© 2021
Prairie Public NewsRoom
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Local News

UPDATE: Senate rejects year round Daylight Saving Time bill


The state Senate has turned down a measure to have the state of North Dakota be on Daylight Saving Time year-round.

The vote was 23 to 22 against the measure.

The bill's main sponsor -- Sen. Jason Heitkamp (R-Hankinson) -- told the Senate Political Subdivisions Committee he’s heard a lot of complaints across the state about Daylight Saving Time.

"People don't like springing ahead and falling back," Heitkamp said. "The people I've talked to want to spring ahead and stay there."

The Commiittee vote was 6 to 1. The lone no vote came from Sen. Judy Lee (R-West Fargo),  who worried about how this would affect people in the metro areas that cross state lines.

"If we all would go tto Daylight Saving Time all the time, I'd be on board," Lee said. "But I have a real problem with it, because if affects a whole lot of people who work on one side and live on the other. You would have to have two clocks in your head all the time."

Related Content