© 2021
Prairie Public NewsRoom
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Local News

Daylight Savings Time bill passes in ND Senate


The state Senate has approved a measure to put all of North Dakota on year-round Daylight Savings Time.

That can only happen if Congress agrees. And the measure – HB 1371 – was amended, so that the surrounding states of Minnesota, South Dakota and Montana also have to adopt year-round daylight savings time before this can take effect in North Dakota.

Sen. Jason Heitkamp (R-Wahpeton) introduced a similar bill, that failed earlier in the Senate.

"People don't like springing ahead and falling back on a yearly basis," Heitkamp told the Senate. "The citizens of North Dakota want to spring ahead and stay there."

The vote was 39 to 8. It now goes back to the House, to see if it concurs with Senate amendments.

Related Content