Prairie Public NewsRoom
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

NDDOT announces winners of the Name-A-Plow Contest

Oshkosh Snow Blower Truck clearing snow following a winter storm event that closed Interstate 94
Poppy Mills/NDDOT
Photo Lab
Oshkosh Snow Blower Truck

The North Dakota Department of Transportation announced the winners of the second annual NDDOT Name-A-Plow Contest. Snowplow names submitted for each district were narrowed down by district employees and the overall winners were chosen by the NDDOT team.

Plowabunga, Scoop Dogg, Big Leplowski, Plow Force One, Austin Plowers, CtrlSaltDelete, Sleetwood Mac, and Blizzard Buster will plow their district’s roads throughout the winter.

Sarah Arntson is social media lead for the NDDOT. She says a total of 890 snowplow names were submitted from across North Dakota.

"it's just a super fun way to engage the public and remind people how important it is to stay safe around snowplows and to use our ND Roads app."