GF Senator one of the longest serving legislators in ND history | Prairie Public Broadcasting

GF Senator one of the longest serving legislators in ND history

Nov 9, 2018

Sen. Ray Holmberg (R-Grand Forks) has been elected to another term.

And he's reaching a milestone.

"This was my 12th election," Holmberg said. "I have already completed 42 years. Next election, I would tie with two other for the longest serving Senator in state history."

Those other lawmakers are David Nething (R-Jamestown) and Duane Mutch (R-Larimore).

To what does he attribute winning re-election so many times?

"You have to keep in contact (with your constituents)," Holmberg said. "You have to keep up with how your district is changing. At the end of the day, your job is to represent their wishes and aspirations, and not a party line or particular dogma."

Holmberg represents District 17 in Grand Forks. He is currently the chairman of the Senate Appropriations Committee. And Holmberg stresses the need to keep up with what your district -- and community -- needs and wants.

"If you do that, which I think I have been doing, you can win elections, even when the winds are blowing against your party," Holmberg said.

Sen. Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND) won the city of Grand Forks. And in that city's District 43, the Legislative delegation flipped from Republican to Democrat, pending the outcome of the canvassing.