© 2024
Prairie Public NewsRoom
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Medal of Honor Memorial


Two years ago on this date, a crowd gathered at Minot's Roosevelt Park to dedicate the Medal of Honor Memorial. Designed by William Reynolds of Washburn, ND, it stands near the statue of Medal of Honor winner, Theodore Roosevelt. The memorial honors the nineteen North Dakota veterans from the Spanish-American War to Vietnam who received the Congressional Medal of Honor, including the most recent, Korean War veteran Woodrow Wilson Keeble.

Several notables attended the ceremony including Michael John Fitzmaurice, a Jamestown native and the state's only living Medal of Honor recipient, and Governor John Hoeven, who reminded the audience that North Dakota has more Medal of Honor recipients per capita than any other state.

As you celebrate this weekend, take time to honor the men and women of our armed forces, past and present, who protect our lives and freedom at great cost.

Dakota Datebook written by Christina Sunwall


Feldner, Dan. "North Dakota Unveils Medal of Honor Memorial." Minot Daily News July 5, 2007.