distracted driving

Cell phone use banned in ND state fleet vehicles

Aug 8, 2018

If you’re a state employee who needs to drive a state fleet vehicle, you cannot use your cell phone while you’re behind the wheel.

That’s the policy adopted by the North Dakota Department of Transportation. It took effect July 1.

"We know that it's a factor in crashes much more than it's reported," said NDDOT Safety Division Director Karin Mongeon.

Mongeon said at the national level, it results in about 9 deaths and 100 injuries daily.

ND Legislature

The Legislature has approved a bill to expand the definition of “distracted driving.”

It changes the “no texting while driving” law passed in an earlier session. The new bill says if a driver commits a traffic offense or gets into a crash while distracted, the driver could be fined $100.

"It's a secondary offense," said Sen. David Rust (R-Tioga). "If I'm driving and eating a cheeseburger, is that distracted driving? No. Distracted driving would be if you commit an offense because you were distracted by eatingb that cheeseburger."

'The 100 Deadliest Days' on the highways

Jun 1, 2016

Triple A has dubbed the period between Memorial Day and Labor Day “The 100 Deadliest Days.”

"We see teens driving a lot more, because they're not in school and have a lot more time on their hands," said Triple A North Dakota's Gene LaDoucer. "they're doing a lot more driving. So we tend to see crash risk among teens increase sharply, during the summer months."

LaDoucer says there is a special emphasis on educating teens and their parents about the special dangers during this time. He says about 60 percent of crashes that involve teen drivers are due to distracted driving.