© 2024
Prairie Public NewsRoom
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Prairie Public’s comprehensive election coverage provides authentic and varied perspectives on the issues shaping our lives.Stay informed with statewide election news, interviews, and debates with Prairie Public's radio team.

Primary results: Delzer, McWilliams out

The chairman of the North Dakota House Appropriations Committee appears to have lost his bid for re-election.

Rep. Jeff Delzer (R-Underwood) unofficallly came in third in the Republican Primary election in District 8. Newcomers David Andahl and Dave Nehring won the GOP endorsement in that district. Andahl and Nehring were endorsed by Governor Doug Burgum and US Senator Kevin Cramer.

Delzer served one term in the Legislature in the 1991 session, then returned to the House in 1995. He has been House Appropriations chair since 2011.

Incumbent Rep. Aaron McWilliams (R-Hillsboro) appears to have lost his bid for re-election. McWilliams came in third in the Republican  primary in District 20. Newcomers Mike Beltz and Jared Hagert appear to have won that primary, and will move to the general election.

McWilliams was elected in 2016.

In district 28, incumbent Republicans Mike Brandenberg and Jeffrey Magrum have been endorsed for re-election. Republican Jim Gruenich  – who had served in the Legislature from District 12 – had moved to the district. Gruenich campaigned with Brandenberg and GOP Senator Robert Erbele.

In Mandan’s District 34, Doug Larson defeated the GOP-backed candidate Al Anderson for the nomination.  The incumbent senator – Republican Dwight Cook – did not seek re-election.

It appears Rep. Thomas Beadle (R-Fargo) has won the party endorsement for state Treasurer.  Beadle has 52 percent of the vote. The other candidate – Rep. Daniel Johnston (R-Kathryn) – had 48 percent.

Johnston was endorsed by President Trump and Senator Kevin Cramer, while Beadle was backed by Governor Doug Burgum.

In the race for Superintendent of Public Instruction, incumbent Kirsten Baesler and Underwood School Superintendent Brandt Dick will move on to the general election. Charles Tuttle was third. It is a non-partisan office.

Related Content